Thu, Sep 19, 2019 9:09

Chhatra Dal gets new central leadership


Khokon was elected president and Shamol the general secretary

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, student wing of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), has elected new central leadership after its long awaited sixth council.

Fazlur Rahman Khokon was made the president while Iqbal Hossain Shamol was elected as General Secretary.

The Chhatra Dal central council leadership was elected on Wednesday night through voting as the council convened at the residence of the party's standing committee member Mirza Abbas – amid power cuts – in Dhaka’s Shahzahanpur.

Council proceedings started around 8:40pm with 539 councilors of the student wing present there.

Voting was conducted using transparent ballot boxes and a total of 481 votes were cast by 12am.

Khokon received 186 votes while his closest candidate Kazi Rawnakul Islam Srabon got 178 votes for the post of president.

For the general secretary post, Shamol got 139 votes, while his closest contender Zakirul Islam Zakir got 78 votes.

The council was scheduled to meet at BNP's Naya Paltan office at 8pm on Wednesday. But, power cuts in the area forced the high command to shift their venue to Mirza Abbas's residence.

BNP acting Chairperson Tarique Rahman joined the council through a video call with Skype, firstly in Naya Paltan and then in Shahzahanpur, confirmed several councilors.

He also joined during the ballot counting and later before the announcement of the result.

Although the council was scheduled to be held on September 14, a Dhaka court issued a temporary injunction blocking the national council two days before the schedule was announced for a second time.